This idea is actually my wife’s but it meets the spirit of the blog so I’ll reproduce it here.

  Her idea is to provide a service where customers can call a toll-free number and dictate their e-mail messages. After speaking their message the automated system would “type” out their message and send it to the desired recipients. The customer could set up an address list in advance to avoid having to speak out awkward email addresses letter by letter.

  I’ve heard of a service that would allow you to send audio files recorded over the phone as attachments to emails. However, I haven’t heard anything about it recently. 

  I would say the most likely reasons that this won’t work are:

  1. Speech to text software isn’t that great and paying customers would get frustrated with being misunderstood. (some people say Microsoft Vista is getting better at speech recognition, but others aren’t as impressed)
  2. Someone else is likely already doing it.

  Either way, it’s still a good idea. Way to go honey!

Update: I did a quick google for dictate email and found www.copytalk.com and www.myjotter.com without much effort. They appear to do exactly what my wife was describing (plus more).  I know I could have done that search before I posted the original, but that would spoil the fun :).

